Page Speed 0.43 Seconds

Provided by iJoomla SEO



Sport Hawkes Bay push hard to get in the black.


Sport Hawkes Bay have announced the organisation could be facing a $69,000 loss next year but are adamant they will do everything they can to turn things around.

Last year the organisation had forecast a $70,000 loss but a mammoth effort by staff meant they were able to post a $7000 profit instead.

They now hope they can repeat last years performance and continue with a conservative approach.  

Sport Hawkes Bay was established in 1989 and has grown into a multimillion dollar organisation with over 60 staff members.

They say the projected loss can be partly attributed to a reduction in health related funding.


Add a comment (0)

Emphatic win in Napier places Central Stags at the top of the table.


After one full round of Plunket Shield brought to you by Budget Car & Truck Rental, domestic cricket switches gear into the first Georgie Pie Super Smash festival weekend, kicking off with the North Island v South Island of Origin.

Friday night's Island of Origin clash between the North and South Islands puts two teams stacked with BLACKCAPS and the best domestic cricketers head to head with regional pride on the line. There is one change to the original line-ups with James McMillan replacing Jacob Duffy in the South Island team - entry is free and the match is live on SKY Sport starting at 7.10pm.

The first Georgie Pie Super Smash festival weekend sees all six teams in action. The Canterbury Kings will sport their new name and purple uniform for the first time on Sunday evening against the Devon Hotel Central Stags. SKYCITY Northern Knights play Wellington Firebirds on Saturday afternoon and the SBS Bank Otago Volts Sunday afternoon, while the Volts face the Mondiale Auckland Aces on Saturday evening.

All Georgie Pie Super Smash matches are live on SKY Sport and Radio Sport, ticketing information is at Follow the #gpsupersmash tag on Twitter to keep up with the play.

Upcoming matches - Georgie Pie Super Smash

North Island v South Island Twenty20

Friday 31 October 7.10pm

Seddon Park, Hamilton

Free entry


Live on SKY Sport and Radio Sport, live scoring on

SKYCITY Northern Knights v Wellington Firebirds

1 November 3.50pm

Seddon Park, Hamilton


Live on SKY Sport and Radio Sport, live scoring on

SBS Bank Otago Volts v Mondiale Auckland Aces

1 November 7.10pm

Seddon Park, Hamilton


Live on SKY Sport and Radio Sport, live scoring on

SKYCITY Northern Knights v SBS Bank Otago Volts

2 November 3.50pm

Seddon Park, Hamilton


Live on SKY Sport and Radio Sport, live scoring on

Canterbury Kings v Devon Hotel Central Stags

2 November 7.10pm

Seddon Park, Hamilton


Live on SKY Sport and Radio Sport, live scoring on

Matches completed - Plunket Shield brought to you by Budget Car & Truck Rental

The Central Stags sit on top of the Plunket Shield table after an emphatic win by an innings and 94 runs over the Otago Volts in Napier, highlighted by Doug Bracewell's eight wickets in the match and 73 runs with the bat. The Northern Knights went down to the Auckland Aces in Whangarei in a see low scoring affair, while the Wellington Firebirds got up over Canterbury thanks to some late hitting by James Franklin and Stephen Murdoch. The Plunket Shield brought to you by Budget Car & Truck Rental resumes in early December after the Georgie Pie Super Smash is completed.

SKYCITY SKYCITY Northern Knights lost to Mondiale Auckland Aces by five wickets

Canterbury lost to Wellington Firebirds by four wickets

Devon Hotel Central Stags beat SBS Bank Otago Volts by an innings and 94 runs

- Full Plunket Shield schedule on

- Plunket Shield points table:

Major Association media contacts

SBS Bank Otago Volts - Andy McLean 027 454 3187

Canterbury - Mark Cini 027 430 3075

Wellington Firebirds - Kirsty Merrett 021 241 4703

Devon Hotel Central Stags - Lance Hamilton 021 754 594

SKYCITY Northern Knights - Pat Cole 0274 809 507

Mondiale Auckland Aces - Iain Laxon 021 815 482

Add a comment (0)

Support Wairoa's sporting legends.


The Wairoa Sports Awards will take place on Friday 28th November 2014 at the War Memorial Hall in Wairoa. You can nominate someone now, Click Here to download a form. Nominations close at the end of the month so get in quick.

The awards ceremony will feature guest speaker Joseph Parker so help recognise Wairoas legends.

Tickets are now on sale at the Wairoa Community Centre. For more information please contact JJ on 06 838 3086.

Add a comment (0)

Fruean's time in Hawkes Bay seems to have done him the world of good.

Robbie Fruean

A season with Hawkes Bay seems to have done imposing centre Robbie Fruean the world of good after being named in the Crusaders squad today.

Fruean left the Crusaders unexpectedly twelve months ago, after representing the region for four years, following reports he had been told he would need to take a pay cut while he recovered from heart surgery. 

Signing with the Chiefs, who were the Super Rugby champions, may have seemed like a good idea at the time but a procedure for abnormal heart rhythms and the return of Sonny Bill Williams meant Fruean was never offered a new deal.

After signing with Hawke's Bay in the NPC Fruean proved that he was on the mend playing 11 matches and averaging 79 minutes a game.

The Crusaders will welcome Fruean now that he seems to be back to full fitness after having released Adam Whitelock and Lee-Lo in the midfield.


Add a comment (0)

Day 3 of the Plunket Shield match in Napier proves a stunner for the stags.

Central Districts Stags

Day three of the Central Districts Stags Plunket Shield match against the Otago Volts was a stunner after rain halted proceedings on day two.

Starting the day on 179 for 2 the Stags were chasing an unremarkable tally of 207 all out.

Ben Smith put on a show posting his second first class century for the Stags before the Volts new opening bowler Jesse Ryder finally took him out for 112.

Central Districts continued on to declare at 435-6 leaving Otago in trouble chasing a 228 lead heading into the final day in Napier.


Add a comment (0)

NZDH Outdoor Action Downhill Series Round 3 in Hawkes Bay.


Downhill mountain bike racing. Round 1 of the 5 race series held at Rotorua, Wellington, Napier, Taupo and Auckland (final).

Come and either race or see some of the best exponents of this sport in New Zealand.

When: Sat 1 Nov 2014, 8:00am–5:00pm

Where: Eskdale Forest, Tait Road, Napier

Restrictions:All Ages


Add a comment (0)

Hawkes Bays Backdoor BayBash goes off despite the small surf.


Hawke's Bay first nationally rated open mens and womens surf competition went well over the weekend despite small surf remaining below the 1m mark throughout the day.

Local surfer Ben Hazelwood was able to grab second place with Hawke's Bay's top surfer Jeremy Evans pushed out to third for the mens open title.

Top placing went to four-time national champion Mazz Quinn of Gisborne in the two-day Backdoor BayBash at Waimarama Beach.

The womens open title was claimed by Auckland's Bianca Sansom closely followed by Kea Smith of Mount Maunganui.

Mount Maunganui's Kehu Butler won the under 20 boys division in a hard fought competition with Taranaki's Daniel Farr who finished on level pegging with Butler but lost due to points.

Gisborne's Jasmine Smith found her best form to win the under-20 girls' division holding off the Sansom sisters of Auckland in the final.


Add a comment (0)