Beatson the master at Masterton

Maurice Beatson claimed the Equissage Horse Grand Prix as his own at the Masterton A and P Show today.

The Olympian started three horses in the 14-strong class, and finished first, third and sixth.

The jump-off came down to the Central Hawke’s Bay farmers - Beatson (Dannevirke) aboard Mandalay Cove and Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) on McMillan’s Midway Smooth Dude.

Beatson dropped a rail mid field, to finish on four faults in 57.33 seconds. The pressure was on Wilson to go clear, however, it wasn’t to be and had to concede the class.

In the opening round, Beatson and Schimmel Warrior had four faults early on, and he also picked up four aboard Conyers, but in a slower time.

In the Country TV Pony Grand Prix, Parys Marshall (New Plymouth) on Spot You Later, Ruby Mason (Napier) on Mr Acho and Sophie Scott (Pautatahanui) on Benrose Playtime were all double clear.

However, Marshall’s 43.83 second time, just edged out her runner-up Mason who stopped the clock at 44.5, with Scott at 46.01.

Fastest time of the round went to the fourth-placed Shanae McKay (Levin) on Guthrie who paid for her 38.73 round with a rail.


Equissage Horse Grand Prix: Maurice Beatson (New Plymouth) Mandalay Cove 1, Simon Wilson (Waipukurau) McMillan’s Midway Smooth Dude 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Schimmel Warrior 3, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) LT Holst Aunty Annette 4, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Landenfeld 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Conyers 6.

Country TV Pony Grand Prix: Parys Marshall (Dannevirke) Spot You Later 1, Ruby Mason (Napier) Mr Acho 2, Sophie Scott (Pautatahanui) Benrose Playtime 3, Shanae McKay (Levin) Guthrie 4, Georgia Percy (Tinui) Surprise Illusion 5, Leah McKay (Levin) Kabo So Far 6.

Telford Junior Rider: Nicholas O’Leary (Wanganui) Obeone Kanobe 1, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud 9 2, Lucy Rowe (Palmerston North) Samalu 3, Hannah Fraser (Bulls) Vendange 4, Shanae McKay (Levin) TNT 5, Charlotte Gray (Levin) Coup Perfectly Done 6.

Canterbury Equestrian Young Rider Series: Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Larinium LS 1, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Landenfeld 2, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Mr Marmite 3, Denver Ingram (Dannevirke) Ratu 4, Emily Fraser (Bulls) Kiwi Sunray 5, Rebecca Porter (Napier) Kiwi Jet 6.

Caledonian Amateur Rider Series: Patricia Pearce (Marton) Joan Jet 1, Diana Cottle (Levin) Morpheus Rising 2, Graeme Isaacson (Dannevirke) Pokere 3, Laura Knight (Palmerston North) Allouette 4, John McLaughlan (Dannevirke) Kiwi Wingman 5, Jessica Brough (Kaiapoi) Authentic NZPH 6.

Let’s Bale Pro-Amateur Rider Series: Chloe Akers (Opiki) Kiwi Motto 1, Helen Kippen (Ocean Beach) Velocity NZPH 2, Sally Clark (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 3, Caitlin Pemberton (Palmerston North) About Now 4, Kaleigh Kent (Otane) Double J Sponge Bob 5, Libby Rayner (Marton) Magnetism 6.

East Coast Horses Five Year Old Series: John MacLennan (Waipukurau) Ngahiwi Para, Katharine van Tuyl (Palmerston North) Centavino, Ashley Hart (Hastings) Kiwi Showtime, Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Equador MW, Douglas Isaacson (Dannevirke) Elmo, Helen Kippen (Ocean Beach) Be Mine NZPH, Melanie Cooper (Stratford) Zario, Brooke Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Meeanee WTF, Wendy Jacobs (Takapau) Double J Breeze On and Ashley Hart (Hastings) Kiwi King =1.

Mitavite Six Year Old Series: Bernard Denton (Feilding) Whiorau Ritchie, Bernard Denton (Feilding) Horsesports Sequel and Oliver Edgecombe (Waipukurau) Double J Escape =1.

ESNZ Seven Year Old Series: Robert Steele (Dannevirke) LT Holst Bernadette 1, Tim Pearce (Marton) Oracle WT 2, Helen Kippen (Ocean Beach) Velocity NZPH 3, Daniel Blundell (Ocean Beach) Quiz GNZ 4, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Kittiwake 5, Charlotte Gray (Levin) Coup Perfectly Done 6.

Timber by EMSIEN-3 LTD